Bronze Medallist set to provide stiff competition in Yachting Developments New Zealand Match Racing Championships


The Yachting Developments New Zealand Match Racing Nationals will be kicking off on Thursday 13th October where 20 of the world’s top skippers will be racing for the title of NZ’s top match racing team.

Make sure you get down to the RNZYS on Sunday 16th October to watch the finals. PJ Montgomery, the voice of yachting will be commentating and broadcasting live within a 1km radius of RNZYS on 102.4 FM.

The RNZYS members bar will be open to the public for viewing, and racing will be right up close to the sea wall giving viewers a chance to see these top sailors in action.

Favourites for the coveted title include defending champion Chris Steele who is currently ranked 8th in the world, but he will have his work cut out for him this year.

Other teams to watch will be Sam Meech who is fresh off of his Olympic bronze medallist success in the 2016 Games. This will be Meech’s first time competing in International Match Racing and will be facing off against other professional sailors such as David Chapman and Evan Walker from Australia,

Graeme Sutherland and his rock star team of Mike Bullot, Dave Hazard and Tim Snedden.

Also joining us for the first time is Malaysian sailor Jeremy Koo and his Sime Darby racing team who have recently climbed to 14th in the world match racing rankings.

Skipper list                             Country                    World Ranking        Yacht Club

  1. Chris Steele                            NZL                   8th                              RNZYS
  2. Jeremy Koo                           MAL                  14th                            RSYC
  3. George Anyon                        NZL                   39th                            RNZYS
  4. Evan Walker                          AUS                   79th                            CYCA
  5. Oakley Marsh                       NZL                   169th                          RPNYC
  6. Mathew Hughes                  NZL                   193rd                          RNZYS
  7. David Chapman                 AUS                   331st                          RSYS
  8. Alan Quere                           FRA                   432nd                         CNC
  9. Sam Meech                          NZL                   Un ranked               TYPBC
  10. David Wood                         NZL                   Un ranked               MCC
  11. Robert Hielkema                  NZL                   Un ranked               BOIYC
  12. Patrick Haybittle                   NZL                   Un ranked               RNZYS
  13. Graeme Sutherland            CAN                 Un ranked               RNZYS
  14. Celia Willison                         NZL                   Un ranked               RNZYS
  15. Erica Dawson                       NZL                   Un ranked               MBSC
  16. Frankie Dair                           USA                   Un ranked               KKCC
  17. Henry Haslett                         NZL                   Un ranked               WBC
  18. Matthew Steven                  NZL                   Unranked                RPNYC
  19. Tom Fyfe                                NZL                   Un ranked               MBSC
  20. Brian Trubovich                    NZL                   Un ranked               RNZYS

The event will be raced in the Squadrons fleet of Elliott 7 metre keel boats, built by event sponsor Yachting Developments in 2010. It is Fantastic to have the backing of Yachting Developments as we continue the proud history of match racing in New Zealand.

Recent Posts