Its a Wrap for the 2017 Trillian Trust Classic Yacht Regatta

The final day of the 2017 Trust Classic Yacht Regatta began with a parade of Classic Launches. Right outside of the RNZYS Members Bar and provided quite a spectacle! The launches then continued up to Riverhead for lunch.

Yacht racing began just off RNZYS between the committee boat, Wild Duck and the Westhaven ODM at 1100 which was the fourth and final race for this year’s regatta. This was the race that determined the 2017 winners.

The A Bermudan division was taken by Tawera helmed by Mike Mahoney while the B division saw Aramoana with Andy Ball helming take the win.

The A Gaff division was won by the beautiful Rawhiti, helmed by Mike Malcolm. B Gaff division saw Corona take out the honours.

For a second year in a row Yachting Developments yacht Innismara has claimed first in the A Modern division. This yacht was helmed by co-skippers Paige Cook and Daniel Pooley, led one of the younger teams of the competition to win the regatta.

Finally, the B Modern division saw Appaloosa helmed by David Slattery taking out 1st place.

Thank you to the Trillian Trust and the Classic Yacht Association for their organisation of the event.

A huge thank you to the Race Committee led by Stewart Heine for all their time and effort. Heine stated that ‘it was a wonderful regatta. We love getting these older boats out and seeing what they can do”.

It has been a great weekend for all involved and we look forward to an even better one in 2018!

Follow us on Facebook for photos:


For more information contact Georgia Witt at the sailing office at

You can also phone us on 09 360 3809 or 027 6457788.

Recent Posts