Contact Us Classifieds Gallery Login  


HOME RNZYS Sailing Facilities and Functions Membership News and Events Youth Programme
Sailing | Major Regattas | NZ Womens Match Racing
Skip Navigation Links.


New Zealand Women's Match Racing Championships
in association with Pagani 
New Dates - 9th - 11th May 2014

Due to Cyclone Luci the NZ Women's Match Racing Championship was postponed. We have 6 very keen crews lined up to compet and are looking forward to a fantastic regatta!

2014 Expression of Interest Form

2014 Notice of Race Here

Amendment One Here


Entries Received
Miranda Powrie - RNZYS
Kylie Jameson - Napier Sailing Club
Claudia Pierce - RNZYS YTP
Michelle Tait - RNZYS YTP
Emmanuelle Merlo - CNC New Caledonia
Melinda Henshaw - RNZYS


2013 Event

View full Final 2013 report here

View 2013 Video Here

Final Results Table 2013

History of the Event

The New Zealand Womens Match Racing Championships have been held at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron since 2000 when Amy Waring representing the RNZYS was the first winner and received the Leith Mossman Memorial.

Honours Board of past champions

Leith Mossman - an inspiration to us all!

Leith Mossman packed more into her 45 years than most of us would in a lifetime.  An avid sailor, she raced on many yachts in Auckland, including Krasna (Townsen 36), The V Team (Farr 1020), Rhythm (S&S 45) to Fiji, Brighstone - Sydney-Hobart, Share Delight and Waiwera Naturally Hot (Mumm 30). Leith was always full of enthusiam and fun, whether racing with the boys, with the girls, match racing, fleet racing or offshore - an inspiration to us all.  Unfortunately she lost her battle with breast cancer in 1998.

The Leith Mossman Memorial tray was donated to the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron by the New Zealand Womens Yachting Trust in 2000 in memory of our friend Leith.  The Trophy is the principal prize for the annual New Zealand Womens Match Racing Championships held by the RNZYS.

For further information please contact:

Melanie Benton

Phone: (09)360-6809
Fax: (09)360-6802


2013 Winners Susannah Pyatt & crew

put a photo here

The Leith Mossman Memorial Tray - awarded to the New Zealand Womens Match Racing Champion. Kindly Donated by the New Zealand Womens Yachting Trust in memory of our friend Leith.

Photo: RNZYS Media



Designed by Frontend Design | Developed by APL+

© Copyright RNZYS 2006