





WESTHAVENTRIPLE SERIES

14th November 2020, 5th February & 10th April 2021

NOTICE OF RACE

The Organising Authority is the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron 181 Westhaven Drive, Westhaven, Auckland 1011
Tel: 09 360 6800 | VHF: CH 77

Races I (PCC), 2 (RNZYS) and 5 (RYC) will be run in conjunction with Ponsonby Cruising Club and Richmond Yacht Club as part of the Westhaven Triple Series.

I RULES

- 1.1 The Race will be governed by the Rules as defined in the Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS).
- 1.2 The Yachting New Zealand Safety Regulations (as below) shall apply:
 - a) Part II Category 4 shall apply for keel boats and multihulls. For races 2 & 4 all boats shall carry an inflatable dinghy (fully inflated), a rigid dinghy or a life raft.
 - b) Part VII shall apply for sport multihulls.
- 1.3 Racing Rule 52 'Manual Power' shall not apply.
- 1.4 For Div. E No spinnakers or extras may be set. Extras are defined as sails not normally used to advantage to windward. Headsails may be boomed out using spinnaker booms but shall only be carried on a permanent load bearing forestay with only one headsail per forestay.
- 1.5 The Sailing Instructions will consist of the RNZYS Standard Sailing Instructions and the Supplementary Sailing Instructions (SSI).
- 1.6 Appendix T, Arbitration, will apply.

2 ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

2.1 This is a closed event, for members of RNZYS, the series is open to keel boats and multihulls that meet the requirements below;

2.2	Division	Requirements	Flag
	M	Multihull	GREEN
	Α	Open	BLUE/YELLOW
	В	Open	WHITE
	С	Open	GREEN/YELLOW
	D	Open	PURPLE
	E	Non-Spinnaker	BLACK/WHITE

- 2.3 Eligible boats may enter by completing an entry form online at rnzys.org.nz, a non-refundable entry fee shall be paid prior to racing.
- 2.4 All boats with Commodores Cup entries get corresponding entries into the Westhaven Triple Series.
- 2.5 Yachts wishing to sail under PHRF handicap must ensure that they have selected this on their entry and supplied their current PHRF registration no.

3 FEES

3.1

PCC/RYC Sailpass or RNZYS Commodores Cup Series Entry Holders	\$0
Series Entry Fee	\$90
Causal Race Entry Fee	\$30







4 SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

4.1 The scheduled time of the warning signal for the first division is listed below. The start times of each division will be in the SSI.

Race	<u>Date</u>	<u>Location</u>	Warning Signal	OA	Prizegiving
I	Sat 14th Nov	Round Rangitoto Race (WTS)	0955	PCC	PCC clubrooms
2	Fri 5th Feb	Night Race to Kawau Island (WTS)	1755	RNZYS	Lidgard house – Kawau Island
3	Sat 10th April	Haystack Race (WTS)	0955	RYC	RYC Clubrooms

5 SAILING INSTUCTIONS

5.1 The Sailing Instructions will be available after Tuesday the 6th October 2020 online at www.rnzys.org.nz

6 VENUE

6.1 The races will be held within the Waitemata Harbour & Hauraki Gulf.

7 COURSES

7.1 The WTS (Westhaven Triple Series) courses to be sailed will be harbour courses as listed in the RNZYS handbook as Addendum C – COMMODORES CUP COURSES 2020/2021, and online accompanying this NOR as Appendix A - WTS COURSES.

8 SCORING

- 8.1 The races shall be scored as per RRS Appendix A using the Low Point system.
- 8.2 Two (2) races will be required to constitute a series.
- 8.3 Series Scores; only series entrants will be eligible for series scores. All races will count toward the series score.

9 RADIO COMMUNICATION

9.1 As a safety requirement, all boats must maintain a listening watch on VHF Radio on deck on channel 77 at all times while racing.

10 PRIZES

- 10.1 Round Rangitoto Race: Prizegiving will be held at PCC at the conclusion of racing.
- 10.2 Kawau Night Race: Prizegiving will be held at Lidgard House on Saturday early evening.
- 10.3 Haystack Race: Spot prizes will be awarded at RYC at the conclusion of racing.
- 10.4 Any Relevant cups will be awarded at each individual clubs annual prizegiving.

II INSURANCE

11.1 Each participating boat shall be insured with valid marine third-party liability insurance with a minimum cover to \$5,000,000 per incident or the equivalent.

12 DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

12.1 All those taking part in RNZYS races or any other sailing events controlled by the RNZYS, do so at their own risk and responsibility. The RNZYS and any sponsor associated with this event has no liability for any damage, loss or penalty suffered by any boat crew or other person taking part in such events. The RNZYS and any sponsor associated with this event shall not be responsible for the sea-worthiness of a boat whose entry is accepted and/or the sufficiency and/or adequacy of its equipment or the competence of its skipper and crew. The RNZYS reserves the right in its sole and uncontrolled discretion to refuse any entry.

Dated: 19 August 2020







Appendix A - WTS COURSES

ROUND RANGITOTO RACE COURSES (PCC)

Course			Approx.	
No	o Divisions Course and Mark Roundings		NMs.	
1	A, N M	Start – Round Rangitoto, Motutapu & Orarapa (Haystack) Islands either Port (P) or Starboard (S) – Torpedo (P) - Finish	27.5	
	BCED	Start – Round Rangitoto & Motutapu Islands either Port (P) or Starboard (S) - Torpedo (P) - Finish	23	

NIGHT RACE TO KAWAU ISLAND COURSES (RNZYS)

Course			Approx.	
No	Divisions	Course and Mark Roundings	NMs.	
1	ALL	Start – Whangaparoa Outermost Yellow buoy (P)- Motuketekete Island (P) – Passage Reef (S) – Finish between Momona Point and a Race Committee Boat displaying an amber flashing light moored to the west of Momona Point	26	

HAYSTACK COURSES (RYC)

Course	Course		Approx.
No	Divisions	Course and Mark Roundings	NMs.
1	ANM	Start –Gulf Harbour Buoy (S) – Orarapa (Haystack) (S) – Bean Rock Buoy (S) – Finish	40
	All Others	Start –Orapapa (Haystack) (S) – Bean Rock Buoy (S) – Finish	35
2	A&M	Start- Orarapa (Haystack) (P) – Gulf Harbour (P) – Bean Rock Buoy (S) – Finish	40
	All Others	Start –Orarapa (Haystack) (P) – Bean Rock Buoy (S) – Finish	35

PLEASE MAKE SURE VHF CH77 IS MONITORED ON DECK AT ALL TIMES WHILST RACING.
THESE COURSES ARE TO BE READ IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE RELEVANT NOTICES OF RACE & SAILING INSTRUCTIONS