



# 36 DEGREE BROKERS COMMODORES CUP SERIES

14<sup>th</sup> November 2020 to the 10<sup>th</sup> April 2021

## SUPPLEMENTARY SAILING INSTRUCTIONS (SSI)

The Organising Authority is the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron 181 Westhaven Drive, Westhaven, Auckland 1011 Tel: 09 360 6800 | VHF: CH 77 & 16

Races I (PCC), 2 (RNZYS) and 5 (RYC) will be run in conjunction with Ponsonby Cruising Club and Richmond Yacht Club as part of the Westhaven Triple Series.

This sheet, Attachment A and Addendum C – RNZYS Commodores Cup courses are supplements to RNZYS Standard Sailing Instructions, found in the RNZYS Handbook and on the RNZYS website.

#### RULES (SI I)

SSI I

- SSI I.I The Yachting New Zealand (YNZ) Safety Regulations Part II Category 4 shall apply for keel boats and multihulls.
- SSI 1.2 As a safety requirement, all boats must maintain a listening watch on VHF Radio on deck on channel 77 and channel 16 at all times while racing. Emergency communication must be made on channel 16.
- SSI 1.3 For races 2, 3 and 4, all yachts are required to call the Race Committee via VHF Radio Ch 77 to check in prior to the start sequence.
- SSI 1.4 For race 2 the Y flag will be displayed from the committee vessel and all competitors will be required to wear personal flotation devices for the entire race.
- SSI 1.5 For race 2, all yachts are required to call the Race Committee via VHF Radio Ch 77 when approaching the finish line.
- SSI 1.6 Should there be any conflict between the Notice of Race (NOR) or the RNZYS Standard Sailing instructions and these Supplementary Sailing Instructions (SSIs), the SSIs shall prevail.

#### NOTICES TO COMPETITORS (SI 2)

**SSI 2** Notices to competitors will be posted on the official notice board located in the main foyer at the RNZYS, and on the website rnzys.org.nz. For racing at Kawau Island the notices will be posted at Lidgard House.

#### SIGNALS MADE ASHORE (SI 4)

**SSI 3** Signals made ashore will be displayed from the Squadron flagpole. For Race 3, Kawau Course, signals made ashore will be displayed from Lidgard House.

#### SCHEDULE OF RACES AND CLASS FLAGS (SI 5 & 6) SSI 4

| Division | Class Flag   | Fleet/Class   | Start Time | Start<br>Time | Start Time | Start Time |
|----------|--------------|---------------|------------|---------------|------------|------------|
|          |              |               | Race I & 5 | Race 2        | Race 3     | Race 4     |
| М        | GREEN        | Open multi    | 1000       | 1825          | 1200       | 1000       |
| А        | BLUE/YELLOW  | Open          | 1005       | 1820          | 1205       | 1005       |
| В        | WHITE        | Open          | 1010       | 1815          | 1210       | 1010       |
| С        | GREEN/YELLOW | Open          | 1015       | 1810          | 1215       | 1015       |
| D        | PURPLE       | Open          | 1020       | 1805          | N/A        | N/A        |
| E        | BLACK/WHITE  | Non-Spinnaker | 1025       | 1800          | 1220       | 1020       |

All boats shall display the appropriate class flag approximately 2m above the deck line from the backstay of the boat whilst racing. Boats without a backstay shall fly their class flag from the port shrouds. Failure to clearly exhibit the class flag may mean the boat is recorded as not starting in the event.





#### SSI 5 Race Days:

| <u>Race</u>                      |
|----------------------------------|
| Round Rangitoto (WTS)            |
| Night Race to Kawau Island (WTS) |
| Kawau Course                     |
| Te Kouma Race                    |
| Haystack Race (WTS)              |
|                                  |

Date Sat 14<sup>th</sup> November Fri 5<sup>th</sup> February Sat 6<sup>th</sup> February Sat 27<sup>th</sup> February Sat 10<sup>th</sup> April

#### COURSES (SI 7)

**SSI 6** The courses to be sailed, the order in which the marks are to be passed, and the side on which each mark is to be left are shown in Addendum C – Commodores Cup Courses, in the RNZYS handbook and online at rnzys.org.nz

#### MARKS (SI 8)

**SSI 7** The description of the marks is in Addendum C – Commodores Cup Courses, in the RNZYS handbook and online at rnzys.org.nz. Please note Attachment A of this SSI the Fairway Marks.

#### THE START (SI 9)

**SSI 8** Races 1, 4 & 5 the starting line will be between the flagstaff on the Westhaven Tower and the YELLOW Westhaven Buoy. Race 2, the starting line will be between a race committee vessel and the YELLOW harbour racing buoy Orakei. Race 3 the starting line will be between a mast displaying an orange flag on the race committee vessel at the starboard end and the port-end starting mark.

### THE FINISH (SI | |)

| Race     | Finish line  |
|----------|--|
| I, 4 & 5 | Between the flagstaff on the Westhaven Tower at the southern end and the YELLOW Westhaven Buoy at the north end.   |
| 2        | The finishing line will be between the two race committee boats, displaying a flashing amberlight(s) moored to the west of Momona Point.The course may be shortened if required to between; eithera)Race Committee Boat (S) and Whangaparaoa Outermost Yellow Buoy (P), orb)Race Committee Boat (S) and Motuketekete Island (P). |
| 3        | Between a mast displaying an ORANGE flag on the race committee boat at the starboard end and the port-end finishing mark (BLUE).   |

## TIME LIMITS (SI 12)

| Race                     | Fleet/Class   | Time Limit for first<br>finisher | Extension if one boat fishes within time limit |  |
|--------------------------|---------------|----------------------------------|--|--|
| 2&4                      | All divisions | Nil                              | Nil  |  |
| All others All divisions |               | 8 hours                          | 30 mins  |  |

There is no prescribed time limit for the first boat to pass mark 1.

#### PROTEST (SI 13)

**SSI II** For each division, the protest time limit is 1600hrs on the Monday following the race. The same protest time limit applies to all protests by the race committee.

#### PENALTY SYSTEM (SI 14)

**SSI 12** For Multihull classes, the Two-Turns Penalty is replaced by a One-Turn Penalty.

Date: 11 November 2020