Seawanhaka International Challenge Cup opportunity up for grabs in CBRE Club Championship Finals Weekend

 In Club Racing, Competitions, International Events, Major Regattas, Member Interest, News

For the second year in a row the RNZYS is offering a major prize to the CBRE Club Championships winner. For the 2020/21 season all the RNZYS Club Champions for the 12 different divisions were put into a draw, with Barry Martin and his team Bizzarre (B division) winning the prize; flights for himself and his crew to Rarotonga to compete in the first RSC, RNZYS challenge. Unfortunately, due to Covid-19 this has had to be postponed to later this year. 

For 2022 the plan is to have a Club Championships final, this would see the divisional winners race off in the fleet of MRX yachts over ANZAC weekend. The winning team will take home a $10,000 travel allowance and the right to represent the RNZYS at the Seawanhaka International Challenge Cup, in Los Angeles from May 31st to June 5th 2022. 

2020/21 CBRE Club Championship finals winner Bizzarre

The Seawanhaka International Challenge Cup is raced out of Long Beach Yacht Club in the fleet of Catalinas 37s – these are the same iconic boats used for the Congressional Cup. This is a friendly club-based event, with great hospitality and would be an ideal chance for the RNZYS sailors to be represented. 

The CBRE Club Championships is decided by a yacht’s overall position in three main RNZYS series, for most divisions this is the Doyle Sails Winter series, Doyle Wednesday night series and the 36 Degrees Brokers Commodores Cup. For some of the divisions, these series are slightly different, the NOR that outlines the series is on the RNZYS website HERE. Yachts count their best 2 overall placings towards their final score, this means one of the series results can be dropped. The leader of each Division is then invited to the Club Championship Final. The Club Championship Final is an ‘owner driver’ event and the crew must be the regular crew that have raced with the yacht throughout the season.  

The current leaders for each division can be seen below. If you aren’t quite leading your division yet – keep in mind anything can happen in the results! See full list of provisional results online HERE.

A Division V5 Brian Petersen 
B Division MOJOAngie Crafer
C Division JUNIPERLode Missiaen
F Division HYSTERIAGraeme Cummings
E DivisionLORENZCedric Allan
Ladies NZ SPARS AND RIGGINGKarleen Dixon 
Etchells WINDWARDLaurie Jury 
Multihulls FRANK RACINGSimon Hull 
Y88SIMPLE MINDS Bruce Scott 
S34PSYCHEPaul Groom
40R CARRERAJohn Meadowcroft
SportsENIGMAChris Hurst

If you have any questions about the CBRE Club Championships or Club Championships Finals, email

Recent Posts